You are here

2017 Recipients of the Lee d'Anjou Volunteer of the Year Award and President's Award for Volunteer Service

Lee d'Anjou Volunteer of the Year Award

Jeanne McKane

Jeanne McKane (Editors Toronto)

McKane is a fierce advocate for professional certification for editors. And she does more than simply talk about certification; she stands behind it, having earned her certification from the Board of Editors in the Life Sciences and her Certified Professional Editor (CPE) credential from Editors Canada. She doubled down on her commitment to professional recognition for editors when she joined the Editors Canada certification steering committee in 2013. She has co-chaired the committee since 2015.

During McKane's tenure, she has worked tirelessly to raise the profile of professional certification both in Canada and abroad, has advocated for a culture of certification in the editing community, and has contributed significantly to the development and launch of computerized testing. 2017 marks the first time the Editors Canada professional certification tests will be administered on computers.

For McKane, offering professional certification means editors now have a significant goal to aspire to in their careers. But it's even more than that.

It's not what I expected at all—it's been the improvement of my standing with other professionals. As a healthcare editor, I spend a lot of time working closely with doctors, nurses, pharmacists and other healthcare professionals, for whom certification is a long-established practice, and a significant part of their own self-image. There is no doubt that when I make them aware of my CPE, it shifts their perceptions of me a little—it allows them to view me more as a collaborator with a different specialty, rather than as support staff, and that, in turn, gives me a greater chance to contribute my own knowledge and skills to a project.

Before joining the certification steering committee, McKane spent five years volunteering for the Editors Toronto professional development committee. The members who nominated her said she "embodies the best qualities of an Editors Canada volunteer, working enthusiastically, fielding criticisms expertly, answering questions patiently, and handling her responsibilities reliably and passionately. We look forward to seeing her commitment to the association rewarded with [this award]."


President's Award

Catherine Baudin (Editors Quebec/Atlantic Canada)
Carolyn Brown (Editors Ottawa–Gatineau)
Kevin Burns (Editors Ottawa–Gatineau)
Carolyn Camilleri (Editors Toronto)
Dave Ealey (Editors Edmonton)
Patricia Furdek (Editors Ottawa–Gatineau)
Amy Haagsma (Editors British Columbia)
Anita Jenkins (Editors Edmonton)
Juliann Krushen (Editors British Columbia)
Janet MacMillan (Editors Toronto)
Christine Mains (Editors Calgary)
Virginia McGowan (Editors Nova Scotia)
Joanna Odrowaz (Editors Toronto)
Dawn Oosterhoff (Editors Ottawa–Gatineau)
Lynn Slobogian (Editors British Columbia)
Isobel Stevenson (Editors Toronto)