Editors' Association of Canada

Prairie Provinces


Address and Contact Information

Editors' Association of Canada – Prairie Provinces
P.O. Box 12082
Edmonton, Alberta, T5J 3L2

Back to top



Get the best of the writing, editing and publishing worlds at the Words in 3 Dimensions conference.

The Editors’ Association of Canada-Prairie Provinces Branch, Get Publishing Communications Society and Writers’ Guild of Alberta have teamed up to bring you one of the most inspiring literary conferences to reach Alberta in years.
Join us May 24-26, 2013, in Edmonton and take your words to a whole new dimension. Find out more at www.wordsin3d.com.
Words in 3D Newsletters: January, February, March

Find-an-Editor Hotline: prairies@editors.ca

Looking for an editor to handle your next project? Look no further. Email the PPB Hotline to post your project. This Hotline puts you in touch with EAC members in Alberta, Saskatchewan and Manitoba.

As a benefit of membership, EAC–PPB members receive regular email announcements about local and national job opportunities.

Back to top


Professional Development and Other Activities

Most events are open to members and non-members. For more information, contact:

Back to top


Prairie Provinces Branch

If you wish to be added to our emailing list to be notified of upcoming events, email prairies@editors.ca.

Back to top


Certification Study Groups


If you are interested in joining an Edmonton-based study group to prepare for certification contact Theresa at agnewt@shaw.ca. We look forward to hearing from you.

Back to top


Latest Edition
Prairie Provinces Branch

A new editor, Anita Jenkins, will bring us PPB e-news every other month beginning in July 2011. Articles, news items, and comments are welcome.

Download Past Editions of Latest Edition:

May-June 2013 (PDF, 268 KB) 
March-April 2013 (PDF, 371 KB)  
January-February 2013 (PDF, 384 KB) 
November-December 2012 (PDF, 292 KB) 
September-October 2012 (PDF, 268 KB) 
July-August 2012 (PDF, 233 KB)
May-June 2012 (PDF, 312 KB)
March-April 2012 (PDF, 274 KB)
January-February 2012 (PDF, 335 KB)
November-December 2011 (PDF, 222 KB)
September-October 2011 (PDF, 158 KB)
July-August 2011 (PDF, 768 KB)

Volume 17, Number 2 Winter 2009 (PDF, 1 MB)
Volume 17, Number 1 Winter 2009 (PDF, 4 MB)
Volume 16, Number 2 Fall 2008 (PDF, 4 MB)
Volume 16, Number 1 Spring 2008 (PDF, 3 MB)
Volume 15, Number 2 Fall 2007 (PDF, 1.2 MB)
Volume 15, Number 1 Winter 2007 (PDF, 1.7 MB)
Volume 14, Number 2  Fall 2006 (PDF, 1.8 MB)
Volume 10, Number 2 January 2002 (PDF, 152 KB)

To view the newsletter, you require Adobe Acrobat Reader, a free software program which can be downloaded from the Adobe site.

Get Adobe Reader

Board Update

What keeps the PPB board busy?

Leadership, programming, and publicity are key roles for all of the board members.

If you would like to know more about the roles your board members fulfil, the following highlights from our job descriptions provide an overview. If you are interested in becoming a part of the board, contact Paul Payson, PPB Past Chair.

Back to top


Current Board

 Prairie Provinces Branch



Back to top



Want to be involved, but worried about overcommitting? We welcome your help with occasional activities. Volunteering is a great way to become a part of the editing community, and we'd be delighted to have your help, whether it be as a member of the EAC-PPB board or as someone who can just lend an hour or two for a particular event. To add your name to the volunteer roster, send an email to prairies@editors.ca.

Back to top


EAC-PPB Editing Awards Recipients

Rhonda Skinner, Nicole Farn, Shawna Blumenschein

Rhonda Skinner (current Education Liaison and 2010 award winner) with recipients of the 2012 PPB Student Awards: Nicole Farn (2nd year student) and Shawna Blumenschein (3rd year student and 2011's 2nd year winner).

Shawna and Nicole

Student Award Winners: Shawna and Nicole.

The Prairie Provinces Branch proudly announces the 2011 winners of the EAC-PPB Editing Awards. The recipients, all from the Grant MacEwan University Professional Writing Program, were selected based on academic performance in editing-related courses and, in the case of the scholarship recipient, pursuit of an editing career. The winners are:

  • Second-year student (one-year student membership): Shawna Blumenschein
  • Third-year student (one-year student membership): Melissa St Dennis
  • Fourth-year student (one-year student membership and $1,000 scholarship): Talicia Dutchin

Back to top

EAC PROW Scholarship

PROW Poster

PDF version

Back to top



Updated 30 May 2011