You are here

Call for National Executive Council and Committee Chair Candidates

The 2011 EAC Nominating Committee is looking for strong and enthusiastic members to lead our national executive council (NEC) and national committees. In accordance with our national bylaws, we are providing official notice of the call for candidates to all members via this email.

2011–12 will be an exciting year to participate on the NEC or chair one of our national committees. In the February 2011 referendum, members of the association voted in favour of changing the structure of our executive council and the way we select committee chairs. Next year will be our first with the six director positions on the executive council. We are looking for candidates for the following positions:

  • President
  • Vice-President
  • Secretary
  • Treasurer
  • Director of Professional Standards
  • Director of Training and Development
  • Director of Communications
  • Director of Publications
  • Director of Francophone Affairs
  • Director of Volunteer Relations
  • Regional Director of Branches and Twigs (West)
  • Regional Director of Branches and Twigs (East)

NEC members serve a one-year term and must be voting members in good standing throughout that term. NEC members must also have an understanding of national issues and affairs that are relevant to the business of the national association and, in the case of directors, to the committees within their portfolios. It is recommended, but not required, that candidates for the NEC have previous experience serving on one of the association's national committees or on a branch executive.

All members of the NEC are elected at the annual general meeting (AGM), except the Regional Directors of Branches and Twigs, who are elected by the members of their regions by digital ballot.

We are also searching for talented members to chair the following national committees:

  • Certification Steering Committee
  • Professional Standards Committee
  • Conference Committee
  • Training & Development Committee
  • Marketing & Public Relations Committee
  • Publications Committee
  • Website Committee
  • Francophone Affairs Committee
  • Member Services Committee
  • Volunteer Management Committee
  • Newsletter Committee
    (English Editor, French Editor and Production Coordinator)

Most committee chairs serve a one-year term and must be members of the association in good standing throughout that term. In previous years, some committee chairs were appointed by the NEC while others were elected by members at the AGM. Following the 2011 referendum, all committee chairs will now be appointed by the NEC.

Submit your nomination

To submit your nomination, download and complete the

PDF iconnomination form (99.64 KB)

Send your completed form to:

Moira White
Chair, Nominating Committee

Fax: 416 975-1637
Mail: EAC National Office, 505–27 Carlton Street, Toronto ON  M5B 1L2

The deadline for submitting the nomination form is May 2, 2011.

More information

In mid-April, the national office will circulate a candidate's information kit, which includes more information about the NEC roles and responsibilities and the national committee mandates. You will also find all of this information and more in the Members' Area.

Moira White
Chair, Nominating Committee

This message was produced on behalf of the Nominating Committee by the national office.