You are here

Don't forget to submit your nomination for the 30th annual Tom Fairley Award for Editorial Excellence!

The deadline for nominations for the 30th annual Tom Fairley Award for Editorial Excellence is fast approaching!

This is your chance to recognize great editors who deserve to be in the spotlight. Share their outstanding work with us and the rest of the world! This year is particularly special, as we're celebrating the 30th anniversary of this award. Get your nominations in by this Friday, January 10.

The $2,000 cash award will be presented to the winner at the awards banquet of the Editors' Association of Canada conference in Toronto on Saturday, June 7. In recognition of their outstanding editorial performance, finalists will receive cash awards of $500.

The deadline for your letter of nomination is this Friday, January 10. Supporting material must be received by Friday, January 24. Remember, self-nominations are encouraged!

Last year, EAC awarded the Tom Fairley Award to Sandy Newton of Cupids, NL, for her work on Here's the Catch: The Fish We Harvest from the Northwest Atlantic by Wade Kearley (Boulder Publications). Other finalists were Catherine Plear of Vancouver, BC, for Seeking Sickness: Medical Screening and the Misguided Hunt for Disease by Alan Cassels (Greystone Books) and Adele Simmons of Whitby, ON, for The Costumer's Notebook, by Rae Stephens (The Costumers Institute).

Complete nomination instructions and more information about the Tom Fairley Award for Editorial Excellence are available online.

Sandy Newton

2012 Tom Fairley Award winner Sandy Newton

Catherine Plear and Adele Simmons (Photo: Tammy Burns)

2012 finalists Catherine Plear and Adele Simmons
(Photo credit: Tammy Burns)