You are here

Karen Virag Award: Submit your nomination by July 31, 2016

The Editors' Association of Canada (Editors Canada) is pleased to announce a new award created in memory of long-time association member Karen Virag, and Karen's many contributions to the profession. The Karen Virag Award recognizes the efforts of an editor or an organization to raise the profile of editing in their community.

Nominations for the inaugural Karen Virag Award are now open. A nominee's contribution may take a variety of forms, including

  • writing;
  • public speaking;
  • teaching;
  • participating in broadcast or new media; and
  • sponsoring editing-related activities and community building in Canada and abroad.

Nominees may be individual Editors Canada members or an organization. Organizations must have at least one Editors Canada member among the nominees.

The award recipient will be recognized at the annual Editors Canada conference in June, and will receive a commemorative plaque.

The deadline for nominations is July 31, 2016. Please help spread the word about this award.

Nomination packages may be submitted in print or digital format and must include

  • a letter of nomination (100 to 300 words) that clearly and convincingly explains the contribution made by the nominee, and
  • supporting documentation.

For complete nomination instructions and other information about the award, visit the Karen Virag Award page.

Send your nominations to (subject line: Nomination: Karen Virag Award), or mail or fax them to

Editors Canada
Karen Virag Award
505–27 Carlton St.
Toronto, ON  M5B 1L2
Fax: 416 975-1637