You are here

Do you know an exceptional editor? 2018 Tom Fairley Award nominations are due January 31

Shining a spotlight on editing excellence

It is often said that editing is an invisible art. But that doesn't mean great editors should hide in the shadows.

So many editors deserve our recognition—editors who dedicate countless hours to refining written communication so the meaning is clear and effective. These are editors who work on all types of projects, from website content, advertisements and reports to magazines, books and software documentation. When it comes to editing, the variety of material is limitless.

Shining a spotlight on editing excellence

Help us shine a spotlight on great editing by submitting a nomination for the 2018 Tom Fairley Award for Editorial Excellence.

The Tom Fairley Award is presented annually to an exceptional editor who played an important role in the success of a project completed in English or French.

In 2018, Editors Canada will present the Tom Fairley Award for the 34th time. The 2018 award recognizes an exceptional editor who played an important role on a project published in the 2017 calendar year.

Submit your nomination

Do you know an exceptional editor? Did you make an outstanding contribution as an editor? If so, here's your opportunity to nominate yourself or someone else for the 2018 Tom Fairley Award for Editorial Excellence.

The $2,000 cash award will be presented to the winner at the Editors Canada conference in Saskatoon, Saskatchewan, in May 2018. In recognition of their outstanding editorial performance, finalists will receive cash awards of $500 each.

The deadline for your letter of nomination is Wednesday, January 31, 2018. Supporting material must be received by Wednesday, February 14, 2018. Self-nominations are encouraged!

What happened to the 2017 Tom Fairley Award?

We've shifted the year of the award to reflect when it is presented (as opposed to the year the work was published). Aside from the year indicator, nothing has really changed. Earlier this year, we presented the 2016 Tom Fairley Award for a project published in 2016. The 2018 Tom Fairley Award will be presented to an editor for a work published in 2017.

Meet the 2016 recipient and finalists

Dania Sheldon, Barbara Berson, Amanda Lewis

Dania Sheldon, Barbara Berson and Amanda Lewis

Editors Canada presented the 2016 Tom Fairley Award to Dania Sheldon of Gabriola Island, British Columbia, for her work on Charles Gretton: Clock and Watchmaking Through the Golden Age by Dennis Radage, Warner Meinen and Laila Radage (Three O'Clock Publishing).

Other finalists were Barbara Berson of Toronto, Ontario, for The Heaviness of Things That Float by Jennifer Manuel (Douglas & McIntyre), and Amanda Lewis of Vancouver, British Columbia, for Yiddish for Pirates by Gary Barwin (Random House Canada).

Complete nomination instructions and more information about the Tom Fairley Award for Editorial Excellence are available online.

Who was Tom Fairley?

Tom Fairley was a founding member of the Freelance Editors' Association of Canada. His career stretched from the 1930s to the 1980s. He held positions at Canadian Press, the CBC, Macmillan of Canada, General Publishing and Copp Clark.

Tom had a keen interest in the North, which was reflected in his two books on the subject and his many newspaper and magazine articles on the Arctic.

Simply to list the positions Tom held, or to mention one or two of his achievements, does not do him justice. He is remembered more for the exceptional quality of his work, for his generous nature, and for the help and advice he gave novice editors.

Tom died in March 1982 at the age of 63. This award for editorial excellence is our tribute to an outstanding editor and person.