You are here

The Oops Awards: Round Too

It is time again to indulge in one of the great, bittersweet pleasures of being an editor: spotting the goofs of others (a task always accomplished, mind you, with compassion, an explanation of the error involved and a workaround solution). Yes, it's time to scan the text—advertisements, not-so-scholarly journals, newspapers, bedtime reading, billboards, menus and signs seen around the globe—and send in your submissions for The Oops Awards: Round Too.

The Editors' Association of Canada membership is uniquely qualified to spot—and appreciate—infelicities, ambiguities, mistakes and grimace-inducing word wounds. Together, we'll recognize the best of the bad.

Here's your chance to contribute your favourites and share a laugh or three.


  1. Most Expensive Error
  2. Misplaced Best Modifier
  3. Sexiest Slipup
  4. Spell It Again, Sam
  5. Say What? [jargon]
  6. Mangled Metaphors
  7. Positively Poo-
    rest Line Break
  8. Lost in Translation
  9. The Instructions Say So
  10. Signs of the Times [photos of public signage]

Entry guidelines

  1. Entries are welcome from all EAC members; please provide your full first and last names with your submission.
  2. Entries may be in English or French.
  3. Entries in Categories 1 through 9 must appear in documents (print or online) published in 2007 or 2008. Please identify the source.
  4. Entries in Category 10 must be publicly viewable. Please identify their location. Photo submissions should be no larger than 1MB.
  5. If the same entry is submitted by several members, the first entry received will be acknowledged as the official entry.
  6. You may enter as often as you like.
  7. Laughter will be your reward, along with publication on the association website and in our newsletter, Active Voice.

The Oops Award goes to …

Entries will be judged by a subcommittee of the national executive council. Shortlisted entries will be presented during the annual conference in Edmonton, at lunch on June 7, 2008, by the ever-resplendent Moira White (EAC president) and the shy and retiring Brendan Wild (EAC vice-president).

Enthusiastic audience applause by conference attendees will determine the winning entries.

Send your entries for The Oops Awards to by May 25, 2008.