You are here

Submit your nomination for the 2014 Tom Fairley Award for Editorial Excellence!

It's our time to shine

It is often said that editing is an invisible art. But that doesn't mean great editors should hide in the shadows.

So many editors deserve our recognition—editors who dedicate countless hours to refining written communication so the meaning is clear and effective. These are editors who work on all types of projects, from website content, advertisements and reports to magazines, books and software documentation. When it comes to editing, the variety of material is limitless.

Help us shine a spotlight on great editing by submitting a nomination for the 2014 Tom Fairley Award for Editorial Excellence.

Submit your nomination

Do you know an exceptional editor who played an important role in the success of a project completed in English or French in 2014? Did you make an outstanding contribution as an editor? If so, here's your opportunity to nominate yourself or someone else for EAC's 2014 Tom Fairley Award for Editorial Excellence.

The winner will receive a $2,000 cash award. In recognition of their outstanding editorial performance, finalists will receive cash awards of $500.

The deadline for your letter of nomination is Friday, January 16, 2015. Supporting material must be received by Monday, February 2. Remember, self-nominations are encouraged!

Last year, EAC presented the Tom Fairley Award to Peter Midgley of Edmonton, AB, for his work on The Last Temptation of Bond by Kimmy Beach (The University of Alberta Press). Other finalists were Trevor J. Adams of Prospect, NS, for Halifax Magazine (Metro Guide Publishing) and Paul Payson of Edmonton, AB, for The Peace-Athabasca Delta: Portrait of a Dynamic Ecosystem by Kevin P. Timoney (The University of Alberta Press).

Complete nomination instructions and more information about the Tom Fairley Award for Editorial Excellence are available online.

Peter Midgley

Peter Midgley

Trevor J. Adams Paul Payson

Trevor J. Adams and Paul Payson