Editors' Association of Canada

Tom Fairley AwardFR

The Tom Fairley Award for Editorial Excellence, established in 1983 and presented annually by the Editors'Association of Canada (EAC), recognizes the editor's often invisible contribution to written communication. The cash award of $2,000 is made possible by EAC and its generous donors.

Editing—the art of ensuring that a writer's words and meaning can be understood by intended readers—is seldom routine. Yet the best editing is inconspicuous in the final work. For the reader, the work must bear the stamp of its creator, not its editor.

Thanks to our 2012–13 donors

Iva Cheung
Frances Emery
Nancy Flight
Louise Gauthier
Mary Metcalfe
Cate Pedersen
Joel Semchuk
Brooke Smith
Carl Stieren
Jan Walter
Ken Weinberg