Say Hello to Editors Canada

We’re transitioning to the Editors Canada brand. Over the next few months you’ll find our new look and messaging taking shape in our national and regional literature, emails and social media presence. Later this year we’ll be launching a fresh new website. Learn more about this exciting project.

Editors' Association of Canada

Claudette Upton ScholarshipFR

The Claudette Upton Scholarship is an annual, national award that recognizes a promising student editor from among Editors Canada's student affiliates. It was awarded for the first time in 2010.

Claudette Reed Upton-Keeley

Remembering Claudette Upton

Established in 2009, the award is named after Editors Canada honorary life member Claudette Reed Upton-Keeley, a gifted editor who loved the English language and was actively involved in social justice and environmental causes throughout her life.

Claudette was born in North Carolina in 1948 and lived in Alaska, Washington, Alberta, British Columbia and the Caribbean before her death in 2008. She worked freelance and in-house, specializing in scientific, medical and historical materials. Claudette also taught editing courses and was a much-loved mentor to many. She is remembered for both her wonderful sense of humour and her sharp mind.

About the scholarship

This is a $1,000 scholarship to help support continuing professional development in editing. The recipient is encouraged to use the scholarship to attend our national conference, purchase Editors Canada publications or attend association workshops and seminars. The recipient is acknowledged in person at Editors Canada s national conference.

How to apply

Applicants must be current student affiliates of Editors Canada. The application package must include the following documents.

  • a reference letter from an instructor in the applicant's course or program
  • a resumé (two pages maximum) describing the applicant's education and work history
  • a 300-word statement that completes the following: "As an editor, you will encounter opportunities to shape the work of others by providing context, insight and an unbiased view: how do you balance this responsibility with the need to retain the author's voice and vision?"

Submit your application by mail or email to

Editors Canada
Claudette Upton Scholarship Coordinator
505–27 Carlton Street
Toronto, ON M5B 1L2

Deadline: The application package must reach the national office by April 4, 2016.

Students may reapply in subsequent years, but scholarship recipients are no longer eligible to apply.

Judging criteria

The selection committee will choose a scholarship recipient who best demonstrates an aptitude for editing, a commitment to pursuing a career as an editor and qualities reminiscent of honorary life member Claudette Upton.

The Claudette Upton Scholarship is governed by Operating Policy 9 of the Editors' Association of Canada, which is available in the Members' Area of this website.

Thanks to our donors

Founding donors
Martin Keeley
West Coast Editorial Associates

2014–15 Donors

Ruth Chernia
Yolande Lamothe
Michael Newkirk
Halyna Parypa
Susan Reaney
Peggy Robinson
Jessica Sandham
Denise Steller
Brian Stewart
Petar Tomovic
West Coast Editorial Associates

Support the Claudette Upton Scholarship

Help to support Editors Canada awards! We invite you to contribute to these awards that honour the outstanding editors and students in our midst.

Donate online now.

We also welcome donations by cheque. Please make your donation payable to "Editors' Association of Canada" with "Claudette Upton Scholarship" written on the memo line.

Send your donation to

Editors Canada
Tom Fairley Award
505–27 Carlton Street
Toronto, ON M5B 1L2