Editors' Association of Canada/Association canadienne des réviseurs Minutes of Annual General Meeting 2007 Ottawa Congress Centre Congress Hall, Salon E June 2, 2007

1. Call to order

The annual general meeting of members of the Editors' Association of Canada was called to order by the president, Maureen Nicholson, at 3:50 p.m.

2. Approval of agenda

MOVED by Heather Ebbs, seconded by Tom Vradenburg, to approve the agenda as presented. CARRIED.

3. Approval of AGM minutes of June 10, 2006

MOVED by Heather Ebbs, seconded by Greg Ioannou, to approve the minutes of the 2006 annual general meeting. CARRIED with nine abstentions.

4. Approval of the annual report

MOVED by Faith Gildenhuys, seconded by Brian Parsons, to approve the annual report. CARRIED with three abstentions.

Noted:Some members requested that future issues of Active Voice be delivered in a timelier
manner.
Newsletter Committee co-chair, Michelle Boulton, reported that the delayed mailing was
due to extenuating circumstances.
There was a round of applause for the newsletter.

5. Approval of the auditors' report

MOVED by Greg Ioannou, seconded by Lee d'Anjou, to approve the auditors' report. CARRIED with four abstentions.

6. Appointment of the auditor for 2007–08

MOVED by Greg Ioannou, seconded by Helen Norman, to retain the services of Cowperthwaite Mehta as our auditor for 2007–08. CARRIED with one abstention.

7. Motion to approve guidelines for Interactive Voice and Forum Monitor Mandate

MOVED by Lee d'Anjou, seconded by Susan Davis, to approve Guidelines for Participation in Interactive Voice and the Forum Monitor Mandate. CARRIED with two abstentions.

Noted:Guidelines for Participation in Interactive Voice is a set of guidelines for members who
use the discussion forum on the password-protected side of the website. It serves as an
extension of the netiquette "rules" laid out in the email list guidelines.
Interactive Voice and the guidelines are intended for both English and French members.

8. Motion to dissolve the Membership Review Committee

MOVED by Tom Vradenburg, seconded by Susan Davis, to dissolve the Membership Review Committee. CARRIED with one opposed.

Noted: The carried motion dissolved the ad hoc Membership Review Committee, which fulfilled its mandate in 2006. The Membership Committee is still active.

9. Motions from the floor

a) Motion to recognize all conference volunteers.

MOVED by Susan Davis, seconded by Jennie Worden, to thank all of the conference volunteers for their work. CARRIED.

There was a round of applause for the Conference Committee.

10. Elections

Faith Gildenhuys introduced the elections.	
a) National executive council	
i) Elected positions	
The following members were elected by acclamation:	
President	Moira White (NCR)
Vice-President	Brendan Wild (PP)
Secretary	Julia Cochrane (QAC)
Treasurer	Greg Ioannou (TO)

NOMINATION from the floor: Mary Anne Carswell nominated Jennie Worden (TO) for member-atlarge; Lee d'Anjou seconded the nomination.

The membership cast their votes for the three nominees for the two member-at-large positions:

Brenda Belokrinicev (PP)	82 votes
Krysia Lear (TO)	63 votes
Jennie Worden (TO)	36 votes

Brenda Belokrinicev and Krysia Lear were elected as members-at-large.

ii) Appointed positions

The national executive council has seven voting mem	bers who are not elected at the AGM
Past President	Maureen Nicholson (BC)
British Columbia branch representative	Barbara K. Adamski
Prairie Provinces branch representative	Licia Paddison
Saskatoon branch representative	Michelle Boulton
Toronto branch representative	Mary Anne Carswell
National Capital Region branch representative	Beverly Ensom
Quebec/Atlantic Canada branch representative	Blossom Thom

b) Committee chairs

i) Elected positions

The following committee chairs are elected by the membership. They are not members of the national executive council.

Francophone Affairs Committee ChairTBC	
List Monitor Lee Hunter	r (NCR)
Marketing and Public Relations Committee Chair Holly Mun	in (BC)
Membership Committee ChairTBC	
Member Communication Committee ChairDoug Linze	ey (QAC)
Newsletter Committee ChairWilf Popof	ff and Michelle Boulton (SN)
Online Job Tools Committee ChairTBC	
Publications Committee ChairTBC	
Training and Development Committee ChairTBC	

NOMINATION from the floor: Brian Parsons nominated Anna Olivier (QAC) for Francophone Affairs Committee Chair; Greg Ioannou seconded the nomination.

NOMINATION from the floor: Claudette Reed Upton nominated Heather Ebbs (NCR) for Membership Committee Chair; Tom Vradenburg seconded the nomination.

All candidates were ACCLAIMED; the other positions remained vacant at the close of the meeting.

ii) Appointed positions

The following committee chairs were announced to be appointed at a subsequent meeting of the national executive council:

Certification Steering Committee Chair	Rosemary Tanner (TO)
Conference Committee Chair	Karen Virag (PP)
Forum Monitor	Alan Yoshioka (TO)
Mediator	Jane Kidner (TO)
Professional Standards Committee Chair	Frances Peck (BC)
External Liaison Committee Chair	Marta Horban (Executive Director)
Human Resources Committee Chair	Moira White (incoming President)
Nominating Committee Chair	Maureen Nicholson (incoming Past President)
Website Committee	Ken Weinberg (TO)

MOVED by Heather Ebbs, seconded by Elizabeth d'Anjou to thank the outgoing national executive council and the national office staff for their work. CARRIED with a round of applause.

c) Destruction of ballots

MOVED by Ken Weinberg, seconded by Jennie Worden, to destroy the ballots of the members-at-large vote. CARRIED with one opposed and one abstention.

10.1 Other business

a) Certification feedback

On behalf of a member not in attendance at the AGM, a member inquired why test-takers do not receive a grade and asked how test-takers can get feedback. The member was directed to contact the Certification Steering Committee or the national office.

11. Adjournment

MOVED by Faith Gildenhuys to adjourn. CARRIED.

The meeting was adjourned at 4:37 p.m.