Editors' Association of Canada/Association canadienne des réviseurs Minutes of Annual General Meeting 2009 89 Chestnut Conference Centre, Giovanni Room Toronto, Ontario June 6, 2009

1. Call to order

The annual general meeting of members of the Editors' Association of Canada was called to order by the president, Moira White, at 3:54 p.m.

2. Approval of agenda

MOVED by Heather Ebbs, seconded by Lee d'Anjou, to approve the agenda as presented. CARRIED.

3. Approval of AGM minutes of 7 June 2008

MOVED by Rosemary Tanner, seconded by Brendan Wild, to approve the minutes of the 2008 annual general meeting. CARRIED.

4. Approval of the annual report

MOVED by Heather Ebbs, seconded by Paul Payson, to approve the annual report. CARRIED.

5. Approval of the auditors' report

MOVED by Greg Ioannou, seconded by Anna Olivier, to approve the auditors' report. CARRIED with four abstentions.

6. Appointment of the auditor for 2009–10

MOVED by Greg Ioannou, seconded by Paul Payson, to retain the services of Cowperthwaite Mehta as EAC's auditor for 2009–10. CARRIED with four abstentions.

7. Motions from the floor

A. Motion to increase membership fees

Motion: MOVED by Frances Peck, seconded by Georgina Montgomery, that EAC raise the annual membership fee, as of the EAC AGM of 2010, to \$250 plus GST (for voting and qualifying members) and \$125 plus GST (for student and emeritus members).

Discussion focused on bilingualism in the association, services for francophone members and certification. In discussion it was noted that certification is not yet paying for itself. The certification test structure will change with the rollout of the new *Professional Editorial Standards*, which adds to certification expenses.

Motion: MOVED by Nancy Flight to call the question. The motion CARRIED without a seconder.

The original motion CARRIED (73 votes in favour, 69 opposed, 2 abstentions, 1 spoiled ballot).

B. Motion to allow student and emeritus members to list in the Online Directory of Editors

Motion: MOVED by Paul Payson, seconded by Ruth Chernia, that the Editors' Association of Canada allow student and emeritus members to list in the Online Directory of Editors.

Friendly amendment: MOVED by Jean Lawrence, that the Editors' Association of Canada allow student and emeritus members to list in the Online Directory of Editors, and that it be made clear on the listing that the editor is a student or emeritus member. The amendment was accepted by the original mover and seconder.

Motion: MOVED by Ellen Reynolds to call the question. DEFEATED (68 opposed, 65 in favour).

i. Friendly Amendment to the original motion: MOVED by Stephanie Fysh, that the Editors' Association of Canada allow student members to list in the Online Directory of Editors, and that it be made clear on the listing that the editor is a student member. The amendment was accepted by the original mover and seconder.

ii. Friendly Amendment to the original motion: MOVED by Stephanie Fysh, that the Editors' Association of Canada allow emeritus members to list in the Online Directory of Editors, and that it be made clear on the listing that the editor is an emeritus member. The amendment was accepted by the original mover and seconder.

Motion: MOVED by Julia Cochrane to call the question. The motion CARRIED without a seconder and with two opposed.

i. The motion that the Editors' Association of Canada allow student members to list in the Online Directory of Editors, and that it be made clear on the listing that the editor is a student member was DEFEATED (130 opposed, 14 in favour, 1 abstention).

ii. The motion that the Editors' Association of Canada allow emeritus members to list in the Online Directory of Editors, and that it be made clear on the listing that the editor is an emeritus member was DEFEATED (127 opposed, 17 in favour, 1 abstention).

C. Motion to acknowledge Frances Peck and the Professional Standards Committee

Motion: MOVED by Lee d'Anjou, seconded by Greg Ioannou, to offer a huge vote of thanks Frances Peck and the Professional Standards Committee for their work on revising *Professional Editorial Standards*. CARRIED.

There was a warm round of applause for Frances Peck and the Professional Standards Committee.

8. Elections

ii) Appointed positions

The national executive council has seven voting members	who are not elected at the AGM:
Past President	Moira White (NCR)
British Columbia branch representative	Theresa Best
Prairie Provinces branch representative	Arden Ogg

Saskatoon branch representative	Kelly Fournel
Toronto branch representative	Ken Weinberg
National Capital Region branch representative	Beverly Ensom
Quebec/Atlantic Canada branch representative	Nancy Holland

b) Committee chairs

i) Elected positions

The following committee chairs were elected by acclamation by the membership. They are not members of the national executive council.

Francophone Affairs Committee Chair	Anna Olivier (QAC)
List Monitor	Julia Cochrane (QAC)
Marketing and Public Relations Committee Chair	Anita Jenkins (PP)
Membership Committee Chair	Raphaël Thierrin (NCR)
Member Communication Committee Chair	Faith Gildenhuys (BC)
Newsletter Committee Chair Cheryl Hannah (H	BC) and Wilf Popoff (SN)
Online Job Tools Committee Chair	Alan Yoshioka (TO)
Publications Committee Chair	Peter Midgley (PP)
Training and Development Committee Chair	Perry Millar (SN)

ii) Appointed positions

The following committee chairs were announced to be appointed at a subsequent meeting of the national executive council:

Forum Monitor	Joanne Haskins (TO)
Mediator	Michael Benedict (TO)
Certification	Barbara Tomlin (BC)
ConferenceJacqueline Dinsmore (Qa	AC) and Lysane Jacques (QAC)
Professional Standards	Jan Walter (TO)
External Liaison	Executive director
Website	Ken Weinberg (TO)
Human Resources (ex officio)	President
Nominating (ex officio)	Past president

10B. Other business

Ruth Chernia announced that on April 27, 2009, Stephen Harper appointed a new Librarian and Archivist of Canada, Dr. Daniel J. Caron. Dr. Caron is neither a librarian nor an archivist; he is an economist and he has frozen the budget of Library and Archives Canada.

10C. Acknowledgement of the outgoing national executive council members and committee chairs

There was a gift presentation and a standing ovation applause for outgoing committee chairs and national executive council members who served in 2008–09.

Outgoing national executive council members: Julia Cochrane Krysia P. Lear Maureen Nicholson Paul Payson Dania Sheldon Outgoing national committee chairs: Heather Ebbs John Green Zofia Laubitz Lynne Massey Antonia Morton Frances Peck Rosemary Tanner

11. Adjournment

MOVED by Lynne Massey to adjourn. CARRIED.

The meeting was adjourned at 5:47 p.m.