Editors' Association of Canada/Association canadienne des réviseurs Vice-President's Report on National Executive Council Meeting June 7 and 8, 2004 Calgary

Members

New, continuing, and retiring council members met following the Calgary conference for a short transition meeting. The first meeting of the 2004–05 national executive council took place the following day. Here's this year's national executive council:

President:FVice-President:MPast President:JSecretary:JSecretary:MTreasurer:GBritish Columbia Branch Representative:HPrairie Provinces Branch Representative:HToronto Branch Representative:GNational Capital Region Branch Representative:AQuebec and Atlantic Canada Branch Representative:SMember-at-Large:SMember-at-Large:T

Faith Gildenhuys (BC) Maureen Nicholson (BC) Jennifer Latham (NCR) Val Gee (TO) Gillian Watts (TO) Lynn Smith Brendan Wild Greg Ioannou Ann Fothergill-Brown Suzanne Aubin Susan Davis (formerly, Turcotte) (NCR) Tom Vradenburg (NCR)

Meetings

In 2004–05, we'll meet in Ottawa (September 11 and 12), Toronto (November 27 and 28), Vancouver (March 5 and 6), and Toronto (June 19 and 20). Council members always enjoy meeting EAC/ACR members from other branches at the social evenings that often accompany these quarterly meetings.

Key points

All council members and committee chairs prepare written reports before each quarterly meeting. Key points raised in reports and discussion at this meeting include:

President FAITH GILDENHUYS recently hosted an email brainstorming session on revenue generation for EAC/ACR. With a team of invited members, she explored options ranging from cool collaterals (t-shirts, pens, and other paraphernalia) to grant applications (especially for support for certification). Because EAC/ACR lacks charitable-organization status, she found that we are eligible to apply to few funding agencies, most of which the Certification Committee has already tapped into.

Quebec and Atlantic Canada interim representative NANCY HOLLAND offered to share information about effective sponsorship recruitment for nonprofit organizations.

Faith also reported that she had contacted Royal Roads University to discuss a communications plan for the association. A student or team may be recruited from among MBA candidates interested in working with EAC/ACR for their final applied project.

Outgoing vice-president STEPHANIE FYSH outlined her activities as co-chair of the Book and Periodical Council's Book Summit Committee. EAC/ACR was to be noted in the program as a supporter of the annual BookExpo Canada trade show.

Outgoing treasurer ANN FOTHERGILL-BROWN reviewed the organization's budget. Anticipated revenues from the annual conference were lower than projected, but so were expenses. Membership revenue is running slightly ahead of projections for this point in the year, though the number of members has shown a slight decrease, to under 1,600. Overall, the annual budget (developed for the calendar year 2004) looks healthy.

The COUNCIL gratefully acknowledged the receipt of a gift (\$12,000, from the National Capital Region) and pending loans (from the British Columbia and Prairie Provinces branches) in support of the certification initiative.

Past president JENNIFER LATHAM summarized the outcomes of committee chair elections and appointments, and noted that some committee chair positions remain vacant (directory, francophone affairs, in-house recruitment, marketing and public relations, mediator, and policy). Members interested in these vacant positions or committee membership should contact executive director LYNNE MASSEY. Here are this year's committee chairs and their assigned member-at-large:

Certification Committee:	Frances Peck (NCR) (MAL Tom Vradenburg)
List Moderator:	Alan Yoshioka (TO) (MAL Susan Davis)
Member Communication Committee:	Doug Linzey (QAC) (MAL Tom Vradenburg)
Membership and Membership Review Committees:	Christa Bedwin (BC) (MAL Tom Vradenburg)
Newsletter Committee:	Peter Roccia and Leslie Vermeer (PPB) (MAL Susan Davis)
PICA (Publishing in Crisis Again) Committee:	Greg Ioannou (TO) (MAL Susan Davis)
Professional Development Committee:	Susan Skivington (TO) (MAL Tom Vradenburg)
Professional Standards Committee:	Cy Strom (TO) (MAL Tom Vradenburg)
Publications Committee:	Mel-Lynda Andersen (BC) (MAL Susan Davis)
Tom Fairley Award Policy Committee:	Nancy Flight (BC) (MAL Tom Vradenburg)
Web Site Committee:	Lannie Messervey (TO) (MAL Susan Davis)

Jennifer also reported on the administration and judging of this year's Tom Fairley Award for Editorial Excellence, including promotional efforts to profile winning editor Ian Coutts. Council members reviewed and provided feedback on a set of policy recommendations from the Tom Fairley Award Policy Committee.

Toronto branch representative GREG IOANNOU confirmed the dates of the 2005 conference (June 17, 18, and 19, to coincide with the BookExpo Canada trade show). British Columbia branch representative LYNN SMITH proposed that the 2006 conference be held in Vancouver, a proposal that was approved by the council.

Executive director LYNNE MASSEY outlined changes to the role of the directory committee chair and the Online Directory of Editors, flowing from the council's November 2003 decision to cease publication of the print directory. More information will be provided in an upcoming issue of the newsletter *Active Voice*.

Outgoing member-at-large MAUREEN NICHOLSON summed up responses from committee chairs to a series of recommendations for improved training and communication. At a minimum, development of a training manual, planning for an orientation session, and some changes to communication practices will be implemented this year.

Maureen also outlined some recent research on the viability of customized corporate seminars and a directory of editing teachers. Her research is ongoing.

As requested by the standards committee, the COUNCIL authorized committee chair Cy Strom to convene a subcommittee to draft a section of *Professional Editorial Standards* to address editing for the Web, with any proposed changes to *PES* to be subject to the usual membership ratification process.

Incoming National Capital Region representative ANN FOTHERGILL-BROWN volunteered to coordinate a revision of the organization's conference manual, prompted by helpful feedback from Dawn Harvie, past chair of the professional development committee, and Jo-Ann Cleaver, 2004 conference coordinator.

The council's priorities for the next quarter include disseminating membership survey results, consulting with individual committee chairs on training and communication needs, and recruiting candidates for the remaining committee chair positions.

Routine business conducted at the meeting included providing an overview of the annual work cycle, assigning cheque-approval authority, reviewing expense-reimbursement and reporting procedures for committees and council members, adopting a privacy policy consistent with national legislation, and allowing student members the option of quarterly payments.

The COUNCIL extended a very sincere thank you to the volunteers and staff across the country.