You are here

Tell us about the editing heroes in your community (now accepting 2019 Karen Virag Award nominations)

Each year, Editors Canada presents several awards recognizing excellence in editing and service to the organization. We're proud to acknowledge the editors who have shown remarkable talent and dedication over the course of the previous year.

But what about the perennial heroes of editing? We're talking about the individuals or organizations that go out of their way to raise the profile of our profession in their communities year after year. Our heroes are the ones who champion what we do and just how valuable we are.

Tell us about one of your editing heroes by submitting a nomination for the Karen Virag Award.

Tell us about the editing heroes in your community

The Karen Virag Award

Editors Canada's newest award was created in memory of long-time association member Karen Virag, and in recognition of Karen's many contributions to the profession. The Karen Virag Award recognizes the efforts of an editor or an organization to raise the profile of editing in their community.

The recipient will be recognized at the Editors Canada 40th-anniversary conference in Halifax, Nova Scotia, in June 2019, and will receive a cash award of $400 and a commemorative plaque.

Please help us spread the word about this award.


Submit your nomination

Nominations for the Karen Virag Award are now open. Nominees may be individuals or organizations, members or non-members. Nominations from members and non-members are welcome!

A nominee's contribution may take a variety of forms, including one or more of the following:

  • writing;
  • public speaking;
  • teaching;
  • participating in broadcast or new media; and
  • sponsoring editing-related activities and community building in Canada and abroad.

Nomination packages are to be submitted in digital format and must include

  • a letter of nomination (100 to 300 words) that clearly and convincingly explains the contribution made by the nominee, and
  • supporting documentation.

Send your nominations to (subject line: Nomination: Karen Virag Award).



The deadline for nominations is Friday, April 5, 2019.


More information

For complete nomination instructions and other information about the award, visit the Karen Virag Award page.