You are here

Award criteria and information

Who is eligible for nomination?

Nominations are open to all editors—both freelance and in-house.

The award is for an editor's outstanding contribution to a work published in Canada in English or French during the 2017 calendar year.

Any type of written project—book, magazine, government or corporate report, software documentation—is eligible, as is any type of editorial work.

Nominees are limited to one submission per year. This submission can comprise a single item or several items from a related series of titles. Every submission must be accompanied by an administration fee.


When are the deadlines?

Editors Canada will begin accepting nominations for the 2019 Tom Fairley Award for Editorial Excellence in fall 2018.


How do I make a nomination?

The nominations period for the 2018 Tom Fairley Award for Editorial Excellence is now closed. Editors Canada will announce the winner at its 2018 conference in Saskatoon, Saskatchewan, in May.


Who are the judges?

The award coordinator chooses three judges based upon the types of entries received. Past judges have included previous Tom Fairley Award winners, publishers, senior in-house editors and senior freelance editors. Judges may or may not be Editors Canada members.


Whom do I contact for further information?

For further information on the Tom Fairley Award, send your request by email to


Support the Tom Fairley Award for Editorial Excellence

Help to support Editors Canada awards! We invite you to contribute to these awards that honour the outstanding editors and students in our midst.

Donate online now.

We also welcome donations by cheque. Please make your donation payable to "Editors' Association of Canada" with "Tom Fairley Award" written on the memo line.

Send your donation to

Editors Canada
Tom Fairley Award
505–27 Carlton Street
Toronto, ON M5B 1L2