You are here

Editors' Association of Canada Announces Canada's First Certified Professional Editors (CPEs)


Toronto, March 26, 2009—The Editors' Association of Canada (EAC) is proud to announce the first editors to successfully complete all four tests in EAC's landmark certification program and achieve the designation of Certified Professional Editor (CPE).

Janice Dyer (Mississauga)
Kristina Lundberg (Edmonton)
Anne Louise Mahoney (Ottawa)
Ann-Marie Metten (Vancouver)

"These distinguished editors have demonstrated exemplary skill, experience and dedication, not to mention hard work, to pass all four demanding certification tests," according to Zofia Laubitz and Barbara Tomlin, co-chairs of EAC's Certification Steering Committee. "We are delighted to congratulate Canada's first CPEs in 2009—which happens to be EAC's 30th anniversary."

Awarding Canada's first CPEs marks a milestone for EAC—the achievement of a long-held goal to establish the gold standard for editing in Canada. EAC certification formally recognizes editors who have demonstrated excellence in their profession, paving the way for businesses, governments, organizations and individuals to select and hire editors with proven credentials.

EAC's certification program is composed of four tests: Elementary Knowledge of the Publishing Process, Proofreading, Copy Editing and Structural and Stylistic Editing. Editors who pass all four tests are awarded the designation of CPE. Editors can also choose to take only two of the tests (Elementary Knowledge of the Publishing Process and one other) to earn credentials as a Certified Proofreader, Certified Copy Editor or Certified Structural and Stylistic Editor.

Since the certification tests were launched in 2006, EAC has accredited a total of 4 Certified Professional Editors, 25 Certified Proofreaders, 25 Certified Copy Editors and 5 Certified Structural and Stylistic Editors.

EAC's 2009 Certification Tests
Registration for EAC's 2009 certification tests opens in July 2009. Test dates are November 21 and 23, 2009. The following test locations are planned, demand and resources permitting: Vancouver, Edmonton, Calgary, Saskatoon, Winnipeg, Toronto, Ottawa, Montreal and Halifax. To assist editors who plan to write the certification tests, EAC offers a four-volume study guide, with one volume for each test.

For more information, visit


About the Editors' Association of Canada
The Editors' Association of Canada/Association canadienne des réviseurs began in 1979 as the Freelance Editors' Association of Canada to promote and maintain high standards of editing. EAC is the voice of editors in Canada, with 1,800 members, both salaried and freelance, who work in the corporate, technical, government, not-for-profit and publishing sectors. EAC's professional development programs and services include certification, an annual conference (June 5–7, 2009, in Toronto), seminars, guidelines for fair pay and working conditions, and networking with other associations. EAC has six regional branches: British Columbia, Prairie Provinces, Saskatoon, Toronto, National Capital Region and Quebec / Atlantic Canada. Please visit

Media Contact:
Michelle Ou
Communications Manager
Editors' Association of Canada
Association canadienne des réviseurs
505–27 Carlton Street
Toronto ON M5B 1L2
416 975-1379
1 866 226-3348