You are here

Irina Malakhova awarded the 2016 Claudette Upton Scholarship


Toronto, June 12, 2017—The Editors' Association of Canada (Editors Canada) has announced that Irina Malakhova of Hamilton, Ontario, is the recipient of the 2016 Claudette Upton Scholarship.

The scholarship was presented at the association's annual awards banquet in Ottawa-Gatineau on June 10, 2017. This scholarship is a $1,000 cash award intended to support continuing professional development in editing.

About this year's recipient

Virginia Durksen named winner of the 2017 Karen Virag Award

Grammar Gal recognized for promoting the editing profession

Toronto, June 12, 2017Virginia Durksen of Calgary, Alberta, is the winner of the 2017 Karen Virag Award, which recognizes exceptional efforts by an individual or organization to raise the profile of editing in their community. The award comes with a $400 cash prize and is named for a highly accomplished member of the Editors' Association of Canada (Editors Canada) who died in 2014.

The new Editors Canada certification study guides are here!

You asked and we delivered! This year marks the first time the Editors Canada professional certification tests will be offered on computer. We've been working for years to create tests that are as close to the "real-world" editing experience as possible, while still maintaining that gold standard of excellence our program is known for.

Is this the year you'll add your name to the list of trail-blazing certified editors?

Editors Canada launches John Eerkes-Medrano Mentorship Program


Toronto, May 18, 2017—The Editors' Association of Canada (Editors Canada) is proud to announce the launch of the John Eerkes-Medrano Mentorship Program. This new national program makes it possible for Editors Canada members and student affiliates across the country to participate in one-on-one mentor-mentee relationships.

Watch "Getting work with the Online Directory of Editors" on YouTube

In December, we presented our most popular webinar yet: "Getting work with the Online Directory of Editors." How popular was it? We had so many registrants for this free webinar that we surpassed the maximum number of attendees allowed by our provider and had to add a second session just to accommodate everyone.

Did you miss this live event? No worries! We've shared the 30-minute video recording on YouTube so you can stream it on your computer or mobile device at your leisure.


Subscribe to Editors Canada RSS