You are here

Karen Virag Award

Remembering Karen Virag

Karen Virag

The award is named after honorary life member Karen Virag. Its intent is to reflect Karen's own work to raise the profile of editing. This included her long-standing participation on the Cultural Human Resources Council as the Editors Canada representative and her frequent appearances on CBC Radio as one-half of the dynamic Grammar Gals duo with Virginia Durksen. Karen also served as the Editors Canada director of publications.

About the award

The Editors' Association of Canada (Editors Canada) is pleased to announce a new award created in memory of long-time association member Karen Virag, and Karen's many contributions to the profession. The Karen Virag Award recognizes the efforts of an editor or an organization to raise the profile of editing in their community.

A nominee's contribution may take a variety of forms, including

  • writing;
  • public speaking;
  • teaching;
  • participating in broadcast or new media; and
  • sponsoring editing-related activities and community building in Canada and abroad.

Nominees may be individual Editors Canada members or an organization. Organizations must have at least one Editors Canada member among the nominees.

The award recipient will be recognized in various Editors Canada communications, and will receive a commemorative plaque.

How to apply

The nomination period for the 2016 award is closed.

The deadline to apply for the 2017 Karen Virag Award will be announced at a later date. Please help spread the word about this award.

Nomination packages may be submitted in print or digital format and must include

  • a letter of nomination (100 to 300 words) that clearly and convincingly explains the contribution made by the nominee, and
  • supporting documentation.

Send your nominations to (subject line: Nomination: Karen Virag Award), or mail or fax them to
Editors Canada
Karen Virag Award
505–27 Carlton St.
Toronto, ON  M5B 1L2
Fax: 416 975-1637

For complete nomination instructions, consult the


Thanks to our 2014–15 donors

Mary Bailey
Susanna Biro
Ruth Chernia
Anne Louise Mahoney
Margaret Shaw
Moira White
Brendan Wild

Support the Karen Virag Award

Help to support Editors Canada awards! We invite you to contribute to these awards that honour the outstanding editors and students in our midst.

Donate online now.

We also welcome donations by cheque. Please make your donation payable to "Editors' Association of Canada" with "Karen Virag Award" written on the memo line.

Send your donation to

Editors Canada
Tom Fairley Award
505–27 Carlton Street
Toronto, ON M5B 1L2